IBRAHIM PRIZE: Jonathan, Others, Out

Former Nigerian President Goodluck Jonathan did not get the 2016 Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership, though he qualified as a candidate since he was democratically elected, served his constitutionally mandated term and left office in 2015, within the three years stipulated for the Prize.

Perhaps Jonathan did not meet a key criteria for the Prize which is intended to highlight and celebrate truly exceptional leadership.

The Mo Ibrahim Foundation yesterday announced that no African head of state qualified to be the winner of the 2016 Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership.

In the 10 years, since the Prize was launched, only four African leaders had won the prize. The laureates get $5million over ten year and $200,000 per year for life thereafter.

The last winner is President Hifikepunye Pohamba of Namibia in 2014. The other three winner are President Pedro Pires of Cabo Verde (2011), President Festus Mogae of Botswana (2008), and President Joaquim Chissano of Mozambique (2007). Nelson Mandela was the inaugural Honorary Laureate in 2007.

All former African executive heads of state or government who have left office within three calendars years of the prize years (currently 2014-2016) are candidates for the Ibrahim Prize. They must have been democratically elected and served their constitutionally mandated term

Written By  Ken Tadaferua
Previous Post Next Post